New in the Sewaholic Patterns Shop: Product Reviews!

Hey, everyone! I added a new feature to the Sewaholic Patterns shop this week – product reviews!

product reviews for our sewing patterns

Now you can leave a review of the patterns you’ve bought, or recommend them to others. I think you can even paste a link to your blog post, if you’ve made it and posted about your experience! It would be great for potential shoppers to be able to see your versions and read your thoughts.

This will also let people sort the patterns by ‘highest rated’ – so they can choose from the best-reviewed patterns.

At first I admit, I was a bit hesitant to turn this feature on. What if all I get is spam? I have the captcha which should help with spammers. (Sorry, I hate those too, if you can’t read the one it gives you at least you can refresh it and look for an easier one. )

Here’s how to get a new captcha – some of them are impossible!

captcha

I think the benefits of having product reviews outweigh the issues though, so I’m willing to give it a go. When I shop online I love to be able to read reviews before buying. It makes it really easy to decide whether the pattern is worthwhile if there are a handful of good reviews! Even things like ‘fits more snugly than expected’ or ‘sleeves were too long’ are useful for people to read. If it goes bad, I’ll turn them off, but I’d love to give it a try.

I’m also fortunate to see so many great comments about our sewing patterns on Twitter, in blog comments and through email. I love to hear about your successes with the patterns! Why not provide a place for those comments to be shared publicly? That’s the kind of information that’s helpful to future buyers. I can say all the nice things I want about a pattern, but it’s so much better when it comes from an outside perspective. It means more coming from you, than from me!

If you’ve enjoying making any of the Sewaholic patterns, I’d love it if you would leave a review! Even a few words would be helpful. Thank you in advance!

,

21 Responses to New in the Sewaholic Patterns Shop: Product Reviews!

  1. Kelly November 27, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    This is such a great idea! Like pattern review, but with a more directed purpose. It’s so helpful to know others’ experiences before buying a pattern, even a great pattern, since skill level, fit, and style are so personal and hard to pin down. Thanks for adding this!

    • Tasia November 27, 2013 at 10:38 am #

      I’m so glad you like the idea! I agree, it’s so helpful to know how other people felt about a pattern. Even easier if it’s right there on the shop page!
      You’re right that skill level and fit and style are so personal, I find skill level the hardest thing to classify because I think anything is possible with the right instruction.

  2. Amanda D. November 27, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Tasia, this is brilliant! I wish more pattern sites would do this. I’ll add mine with blog post links if possible.

    • Tasia November 27, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      I wonder why no one else does, which is why I hesitated a bit! Maybe other companies had a lot of problems with spammers. Or non-reviews, like commenting on the model or styling rather than the pattern itself. I guess we’ll see!

      I love seeing it on shoe-shopping sites or clothing sites, it makes it easier to decide whether to buy or not. So why not sewing patterns! So far I’m enjoying reading the reviews that have been posted. It’s neat to hear about people’s experiences and even what they used the pattern for, like a specific event. Would love to get yours up there too!

      • Amanda November 27, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

        I wrote mine for the Minoru and then saw that others wrote more extensive reviews. Sorry! I totally should have done that too, wasn’t sure how much to write. :)

        • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

          Oh no worries! Anything you write is going to be useful. It’s whatever you want to share!

  3. Carley November 27, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    Great idea Tasia!!

    • Tasia November 27, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      Thank you!

  4. Sandra (Sewist-Stitch) November 27, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    What a great idea Tasia. I will definitely make some time to review those that I’ve made.

    • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      Thank you Sandra! I really appreciate you taking time to leave your thoughts. It will be so useful to new shoppers and new sewers!

  5. Sarah November 27, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    This is a wonderful feature. I’ve wanted to tell people that I use the Cambie bodice as a bodice block (also, I’m guaranteed to receive at least one compliment from a stranger whenever I wear my Cambie) and a product review is a great place to do that.

    • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

      I’m thrilled to hear you get compliments on your Cambie all the time!

  6. Lholy-chan November 28, 2013 at 5:23 am #

    This is a great idea! I love being able to read reviews before I buy something. It’s nice of you to add this to your shop. I hope you’ll get lots of real customer reviews. ;)

    • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      Thank you! I hope so too, so far there have been a few on the most popular styles. I agree, reviews are great and let you know how other people felt about their purchase!

    • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      And also, so far no spam either! yay!

  7. Elena Knits November 28, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    Great idea! I love your patterns!

  8. Elena Knits November 28, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I’ve just left one about the Thurlow Trousers :D

    • Tasia November 28, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      Awesome, thank you so much!

  9. LLBB November 30, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I tried to post a review but I couldn’t get it to work. I get an option for ‘save review’ (no option for ‘post review’ or anything else) and nothing happens if i click it (my review disappears). Anyone have any tips to solve this? Also I’m not sure if it’s supposed to be, but the blog section isn’t fully functioning from sewaholicpatterns.com

    • Tasia November 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      It works! It’s just that they are pending until I approve them. I wish it would tell you that though! Hm, maybe I can fix that somehow.

      It actually submitted your review twice so I’ll delete the duplicate. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!

    • Tasia November 30, 2013 at 11:19 am #

      Thanks for the note about the blog section – I’ll look into that as well!

Leave a Reply