2010 in Review

Wow! What a fantastic year it’s been. So many exciting things happened in 2010! I wanted to take a moment and reflect on the past year, to celebrate the highlights and see what I’ve learned.

At the beginning of this year I started my blog. Hard to believe I’ve been doing this for less than a year! I’m so glad I did. I was desperate for a creative outlet, and needed a place to share my love of sewing and express myself without rules or limitations. My first month only attracted forty visitors! Now I have a thousand people a day stopping by. I never dreamed that so many people would read about my sewing adventures. Thanks for all the encouragement and for leaving thoughtful, sincere comments over the past year!

I travelled to Hawaii earlier in the year, and to Boston and Washington DC in the summer. That’s me in the photo below, fabric-shopping in Hawaii. I’m rather embarassed to admit that the four pieces of fabric I bought are still uncut! I have to get over the fact that I bought them on vacation and stop being afraid to cut them up! Hawaii was so beautiful, I’d love to visit again.

Sadly, we lost all of our photos from the Boston-Washington trip, but had a wonderful time anyways! (And I have fabric from the trip as well.)

I discovered the wonderful world of Etsy and all of its handmade goodness. I found out you can buy vintage sewing patterns and vintage fabric! I love the uniqueness and history of buying vintage, imagining the previous owner’s plans for patterns and fabric.

I discovered Colette Patterns, Burdastyle and PatternReview. It’s awesome to see new and exciting things happening in the sewing world! People who don’t sew often think of sewing as a lost art or a dying tradition, something our mothers and grandmothers did but no one bothers with anymore. So not true!

The coolest and most exciting part of the year was finding all of you guys! It’s unbelievable that there are so many cool, inspirational, stylish and unique people who sew – and because of blogging I’ve found you all! Or perhaps you’ve found me. Pretty wonderful to find other sewing fans, isn’t it? Maybe you’re the only one of your friends who sews, and online sewing buddies are the only ones who completely ‘get’ your obsession with sewing and crafting. Either way, it’s great to find people equally pumped to share our latest fabric purchases and rare vintage pattern finds.

I participated in Me-Made-May and Self-Stitched-September, challenges led by the lovely Zoe, and wore something I made every day for two complete months. Sounds easy, doesn’t it? Both months were an interesting exercise in self-examination and wardrobe evaluation. I learned to be proud of my creations, instead of pointing out the flaws. I suppose that goes for body ‘flaws’ as well as sewing mistakes! Focus on the good, instead of dwelling on the not-so-great.

(Click the image below to visit the Self Stitched September summary post.)

Staring at photos of yourself every day is hard work. If the photos were of anyone else, now that would be a different story! But it’s hard to look at yourself objectively, to see the clothes and not focus on the body parts. You have to take that imaginary step back and examine the photo for the purpose of showcasing handmade creations. Easier said than done! It’s a real challenge to crop and straighten photos without criticizing yourself and your body.

Speaking of handmade wardrobes, I bet you’re curious exactly how many things I made this year! I know I was curious to do the math. Let’s count them, shall we? (Click any of the links below to visit the original post.)

February (1):

March (1)

April (3)

May (3)

June (3)

July (5)

August (1)

September (3)

October (1)

November (4)

December (3)

The Grand Total: 28 items

What’s funny is I thought I’d made more than that this year. I added up the total and thought – that’s it? Although, I suppose up until November I was working full-time, commuting an hour to work each way, and keeping up with family and friends. October looks so unproductive but I was madly working on the Pendrell Blouse pattern. So averaging three items a month is pretty good! Do you have wildly high expectations of your sewing output like I seem to?

(Don’t worry if this list seems like I’m showing off. I had UFOs and absolute fails in there too! Like the Beach Hat.)

The picture says it all – a total flop! (Click the image for more on the Summer Beach Hat..)

I went from blogging three times a week to blogging nearly every day. Even when I was only writing three times a week, there was always so much to say! I never felt like I could run out of things to say about sewing. And I still think it’s true! I plan to keep on blogging nearly every day in 2011, and doubt I’ll ever be at a loss for words. Especially as we start the first Sew-Along, something I’d like to do more often if you guys are interested!

I created a Sewtionary as an easy reference for all my tutorial and tip posts to help readers answer their sewing questions. I’ll keep building it, it’s a great reference even for me to find my own tutorial posts!

And at the end of this year, I was laid off and officially launched my pattern business, which is the best thing that’s happened this year! Again I want to say thank you to everyone who bought a pattern this year. I appreciate the support from the online sewing community so much!

Thank you to my first wholesale customers, Spool of Thread and Grey’s Fabrics, for supporting a brand-new pattern designer. (If you’re nearby to either one, stop in and visit!)

It’s been a fantastic year, and I bet next year will be just as great. I’m not one to panic about getting older or reaching my next birthday. Since my mid-twenties, things have turned out better year after year. I’m not a birthday hater! I embrace each time I turn another year smarter, and more experienced in the ways of the world.

So on that note, here’s to 2011! I’m going to follow with a post on my plans, hopes and dreams for the coming year. It’s going to be an exciting year, I know it!

Hope you have a fantastic New Year’s Eve celebration and see you next year!

,

25 Responses to 2010 in Review

  1. Amanda S. December 31, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    What a productive year you’ve had! I always think I’ve made less, so when I do the actual count am usually surprised. Not this year, though. But anyway, I always love seeing yearly wrap up posts.

  2. Funnygrrl December 31, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    Wow! What a year! This review is a great idea. Helps you see all you’ve accomplished. Otherwise you would just think of it as the year you got laid off. So much better to focus on the amazing stuff.
    Thank you for all your help Tasia. I started sewing in May of this year and swear I wouldn’t have kept it up without your advice and encouragement.
    You’ve helped me have the courage to say: My name is Funnygrrl and I am a sewaholic.

  3. Corinne December 31, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I suspect that you really don’t understand just how much a positive influence you are out here in cyber-sewing world. Your retrospective posting has truly illustrated how you have blossomed. Thank you so much for all the work you do to publish this blog. Happy New Year, we all look forward to the sew along and whatever else your vivid imagination wants to share!!!

  4. Samina December 31, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Congratulations on a busy & productive year. Thanks for sharing it with us. Best wishes for the new year!

  5. Wanett December 31, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    You accomplished so much!! It’s been great reading your blog this year! I’ve learned some things, but mostly I’ve enjoyed getting to know someone who seems so cool ;P
    Happy New Year!

  6. Kristie December 31, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    So glad you started blogging and that I found your blog. This was a fun review. It inspires me to get more sewing done this next year. Looking forward to your posts in the new…and more patterns :)

  7. Victoria December 31, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Congrats to you Tasia! You’ve accomplished so much in 2010. I’ve enjoyed discovering your blog and following along with you. You’ve got such energy and drive! It’s contagious. Happy New Year to you and I hope 2011 brings you much more excitement!

  8. Charlotte / l'Atelier December 31, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Congrats for all that happened to you in 2010 !
    I recognize myself a lot in your post. I started my blog too in 2010 and it got me so inspired to discover that the entire world was sewing like me :-) Now I can’t stop thinking about fabric and stitches.
    I wish you the best for 2011 !
    Charlotte

  9. Irene December 31, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    First and foremost – thank-you so much for responding so quickly to my e-mail. Information was forwarded, and now it’s up to him to do what he needs.
    You’ve had such a wonderfully productive year. I do so enjoy reading your blog. It’s nice to see that sewing is not just for old fogies (as I’m often told that it’s on its way out), and I’m sure that your work is an inspiration to a lot of others. Keep on doing what you’re doing. You’re amazing!
    P.S. If you’re planning to make your business a full-time venture – have you checked with Small Business BC? They have all sorts of help for people starting their own businesses.

  10. Shannon December 31, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    What an amazing year for you Tasia! May 2011 be everything you hope and dream for. I really enjoy following along in your sewing adventure.

  11. Susan - Knitters Delight December 31, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Great wrap up post. Here’s to a fabulous 2011!

  12. Sarah December 31, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    What a great summary. You’ve been productive, girl! Here’s to 2011!

  13. Lizzy December 31, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    WOW Tasia! you did ALL that in less than a year!!!, having the first month 40 followers that’s a lot, but do you know why? because you are very good doing what you do, I mean, sewing, you explain very good and I guess we all love to see on you the clothes you sew besides, in your pictures you look so happy and proud of the clothes you do that I feel happy also just to see your good energy .
    Ashhsss as I have told you before, sometimes I can’t express in english exactly what I want to say………anyway, keep bloging next year!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Serendipity Handmade December 31, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    One day I will be as prolific as you are (I hope!). What an awesome wardrobe you must have.

    The Picnic Dress is my absolute favorite and you did an incredible job. (Oh the fabric on that one!).

    But when are you going to sew McCall’s 3258? I’ve waited nearly a whole year to see the parasol and / or dress from that wonderful pattern! :-)

  15. Amanda December 31, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Tasia, it has been SO great finding your blog a few months ago! I had no idea you only started your blog less than a year ago, and I’m thrilled there’s another pattern maker on the block. Like others have said, you explain things so well and I just love your style (in fact, I now have my hands on that Vogue “Las Margaritas” dress pattern and can’t wait to get started!). And, yes please, as many sew-alongs as you’d like to host the better :) I’ve been thinking on and off to start a blog to share things I’ve made, etc. but I just don’t think I can make posts interesting just yet. Well, something to shoot for one day, in the meantime I’ll continue reading informative blogs like yours…they really have improved my skills and fueled my already huge passion for sewing! Here’s to lots of sewing and beautiful dresses in 2011!

  16. Jessica December 31, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Happy new year! I can’t believe you’ve only been blogging for a year – you have accomplished so much! I love seeing your projects, and look forward to your posts!

  17. Kat December 31, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Wow! That is fantastic. I made 23 things this year but they were not nearly as impressive as your 28 things. Next year I am aiming for 30 but seeing as I am getting married in November and spending all of March in Europe I don’t know if that will happen.

  18. Sue December 31, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Happy New Year Tasia! It’s absolutely fantastic what you’ve achieved in a year and I’m really looking forward to following along with you in 2011.
    I would certainly love to be involved in any other sew-alongs you do during the year. My Pendrell blouse pattern is cut out ready for the sew-along.

  19. Seersucker Sally January 1, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Congrats on such a productive year! Yours was one of the blogs that inspired me to start one of my own! Thanks for all of the sewing tips, entertaining posts, and inspiration. Here’s to a great year of sewing in 2011!

  20. Tilly January 1, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Happy new year, Tasia! Wow, what a year you’ve had! 28 projects – how do you do it?! AND launching your own pattern business. Wow. I am in total awe of you – you’ve made it to my “inspirational women I’d like to be” list.

  21. HipDroppedStitches January 2, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Congratulations on an amazing year! I have learned much and gained much inspiration from you. Thank you!

  22. The Slapdash Sewist January 3, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    What a great year you’ve had! There are so many fun things in your closet. And the loss of photos means you should come back to DC eventually.

  23. Tasia January 4, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Thanks everyone, it’s been a great year and you all have made it even better by visiting and leaving comments! And I absolutely love that I can ‘teach’ sewing through tips and tutorials. It’s a great way to share what I know in little bite-size amounts. Here’s to 2011!

  24. amber January 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    You’ve had one heck of a year, that’s for sure! Here’s to a fabulous 2011!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a new year | indigorchid - December 25, 2012

    […] 12, 13, 14 sweaters (and that’s counting only sweaters, knitted ones!), Tasia of Sewaholic‘s 28 items, or Mena of sewweekly‘s whopping 52+ dresses. I did release a pattern for my […]

Leave a Reply